Official Pub Day

Today is the official Pub day for my second book, The Business of Being: Soul Purpose In and Out of the Workplace. I’m pleased to say that it’s a 2018 International Book Awards Finalist in the Self-Help/Motivation category.

The Business of Being is available wherever books are sold, but if it’s not currently in stock at your favorite bookstore, they can order it for you.

If you’re not able to attend one of the following author events, but you’d like a signed copy, please call my local bookstore (Rediscovered Books, details below); and they’ll ship it to you within 24-hours.

July 11 — San Diego, CA
The Book Catapult
She Writes Press author panel
7:00 pm

July 27 — Boise, ID
Rediscovered Books
Book launch party with French Hors d’Oeuvres and wine
7:00 pm

August 12 — Crystal Lake, IL
Veteran Acres Park
Picnic and book signing at the Rotary Shelter
Noon-2:00pm

If you read The Business of Being and enjoy it, I hope you’ll post a brief review on both Amazon and GoodReads. Reviews are the lifeblood for authors.

What book are you currently reading?

© TuesdaysWithLaurie.com

71 thoughts on “Official Pub Day

  1. Hi Laurie,

    Have quite a few books partly read at present – these 4 I have read parts of in the last few days.
    Daniel Kahneman – Thinking, Fast and Slow
    Nassim Taleb – Antifragile
    Raewyn Peart – Voices from the Sea
    Dave Handford – Protecting Paradise
    I intend to finish each of them, just not sure in what sequence that will happen.

    Then there are dozens of technical papers on fisheries, water management, weed and pest control, and various other topics.

    • Congratulations, Laurie! So many books, but so little time to “digest” them all. However, your new book looks like another winner here! Somehow I just want to devour that book cover! Could it be the attraction of a blue lime, or a blue mandarin or a huge blueberry that attracts my hunger now that the kitchen is closed?! Well, at any rate, that factoid saves me from going to the pantry to look for a bag of tortilla chips to devour in the celebration of your newest endeavor. 🙂 I look forward to its read!!

  2. I read this post title and though, “Oh, Laurie’s going drinking.” 😀 Congratulations to you, Laurie. Oh, what the heck….a toast (at the pub) to you!

  3. Congratulations, Laurie! I loved this new book! Your book is a perfect one for anyone looking for success in their personal and professional lives. i thoroughly enjoyed it and will be posting a complete review at Amazon. I highly recommend it for reading groups of any kind, as well as college classrooms. What is the formula for success? Your checklists are wonderful and insightful–as usual. Good luck on your tour!

    • Chris — Today (July 10) is the day you can post on Amazon. Christine DeSmet, Heather Shumaker, and Michele Vosberg have already been out there. I’d love for you to join your “voice” with theirs 🙂

  4. Congratulations Laurie! Here’s to a successful opening book tour. I continue to recommend Business of Being to friends and colleagues.
    I’m in the middle of an oldie but goodie, a biography, All is Grace, on the life of Dorothy Day by Jim Forest. Day was founder of the Catholic Worker Movement in 1933 (a convert to the Catholic Church) focused on helping the poor. She was a journalist, a reformer, and an ardent pacifist. I’m planning to use one of her quotes for a chapter in my memoir, “Our problems stem from our acceptance of this filthy rotten system.” BTW, my aunt and uncle worked in the Catholic Worker movement in Chicago for several years.
    I’m also reading two work-related books, one on presence and one on narrative coaching.
    I finished Michelle Cox’s last mystery book, A Promise Given, last month.
    Congratulations on Business of Being’s finalist status for the International Book Awards! Exciting to see your talent continues to be recognized.

    • Audrey — I love the quote you shared: “Our problems stem from our acceptance of this filthy rotten system.” And Michelle Cox entire series is AWESOME. She’s going to try to make it to the August 12 author event in Crystal Lake. You might get the opportunity to meet her then 🙂

      • I actually have had the pleasure of meeting Michelle. She lives nearby and we share being Mundelein College Chicago graduates. She’s delight. Would be great to see her again in August!

  5. Congratulations, Laurie! This is exciting, I’m sure. I’m currently reading Less, by Andrew Sean Greer, the second in my summer fiction line-up. I have your book in the “save for later” section of my Amazon shopping cart, and am planning to get it this fall.

  6. Dear Laurie, again, Mazel Tov and Best Wishes for the publication of “The Business of Being.” I am reading your book and know it will be a splendid success!
    At this time, I am also writing and re-reading my 6th book, which is entitled “No Bunk, Just BS (Business Sense): Timely and Timeless Truths Business School Cannot Teach You!”

  7. A bientôt – cheers! As a fan, I’ve already left reviews on Amazon, Goodreads, and Rifflebooks.

    Right now I’m reading Let Food be your Medicine by Don Colbert, MD with foods I’m sure would appear on the menu at La Mandarine Bleue. 🙂

    • Marian — Thank you for posting review for The Business of Being. I so appreciate it.

      Thank you, too, for mentioning “Let Food Be Your Medicine.” I’ve heard excellent things about it and have finally added it to my “to read” list.

  8. Hope you’re having a blast with your new book-baby in San Diego today! I just read a fascinating book called “The Way: a Girl who Dared to Rise”. Have you heard of it? It’s fiction by Kristen Wolf. Oprah magazine says, “A title to pick up now!”

  9. Congratulations!!! 😀 … when I saw the title of this post in my email folder I thought for a minute you were heading off to the pub for a quick Tuesday pint! 🙂

  10. Oh Laurie I’m so happy for you . Your first book has pride and place on my bookshelf ( do you remember the pickle we got in with that one ) I shall be placing an order for your new one very soon .
    I am just about to finish a Victorian mystery Amy Snow by Tracy Rees ( my sis gave it to me ) My next one is Dear Mrs Bird by A.J. Pearce look this one up Laurie if you have a minute I think you might like it .
    Cherryx

    • Cherry — I L-O-V-E your book recommendation, thank you. I just added it to my list. And so other book lovers can find out about it too, I’m cutting and pasting the book description in my reply. It sounds FANTASTIC!

      An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist— a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

      London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

      Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

      Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.

  11. Fantastic Laurie! Congrats many times over! Wonderful to see you went back to your old Illinois home to do a book signing too! I am reading a book on film director Frank Capra right now and it is great. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.